Disable iTunes Ping Service

 

Apple introduced a new social network in the latest version of iTunes called Ping that allows you to "follow your favorite artists and friends to discover the music they're talking about." If you are a music junkie that does not use Facebook you will love the service, for everyone else, almost all of the features already exist in the Facebook world. Although using Facebook may not be as elegant as using Ping, it is worth the few extra clicks to avoid another separate list of friends and likes.

If you were curious and signed up for Ping, don't worry it can be disabled with a few clicks.

Turning off Ping will delete your Ping profile and all activity on the service immediately.  Apple says they permanently delete the data from their servers after seven days. Any reviews that you have written will not be deleted. Follow the steps below to get started: 

Click on the Store menu bar item and select View My Account.

 

Type in your password and click View Account.

 

On the Apple Account Information page click the Turn Off button in the Ping section.

Click Turn Off again on the confirmation screen. 

Wrap up the change by clicking Done on the bottom of the Apple Account Info page. 

Tip: If you don't like the Ping buttons all over the iTunes interface, check out this article. 

Read 121 times
Dylan Austin

About:

Whenever I have a problem, I sing. Then I realize my voice is worse than my problem.

Top
We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used. More details…